Year 3


Year 3

Students in year 3 participate in the Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden Program (SAKG). They are involved in the upkeep of the school garden through activities such as feeding chickens, composting, sewing seeds, harvesting and weeding. Participation in this program involves learning how to safely use garden tools such as wheelbarrows and garden forks. In the kitchen, students learn a variety of skills to cook food using fresh produce from the school garden. Students sit together as a class to eat their self-prepared meal together. Each class participates in one SAKG class each week, alternating between the kitchen and garden.

Volunteers are always very much appreciated in kitchen and garden classes, no experience is necessary! You may choose to volunteer every week or just as a once-off when you have time off work. Wear closed-toed shoes and hair tied back and come enjoy a session with your child and their peers. Please see your child’s teacher for class day/time if you can help. A Working with Vulnerable People (WWVP) card is required, however is free for volunteers.

In the Majura social skills program, Friendly Schools Plus, the year 3 focus is on different feelings, positive thinking and perseverance. Students learn to identify a range of feelings and strategies to manage them. They learn ways to alter their thinking to promote positivity, such as using a growth mindset. Students talk about what they can do to feel better about different situations and themselves when faced with challenges. In year 3, students will also learn what perseverance is, describe situations where they have persevered and discuss why it is important in challenging situations.

All students in year 3 participate in weekly music classes with Mr. Bingham and have the option to join the junior choir with Miss Compton. As part of the school arts program they also have weekly specialist lessons where, with one focus each term, they will learn drama, dance, visual art and media arts.

This year, students welcomed Madame Emma to the school. Each week students participate in a French language lesson where they learn to speak and write simple French words and learn about French culture.

Year 3 is the first year students participate in NAPLAN testing. This occurs in term 2. Information about the program can be found at: https://www.nap.edu.au/

Classroom learning comes from the Australian Curriculum. Here is a link to the achievement standards for year 3: https://docs.acara.edu.au/resources/Achievement_on_a_Page_Year_3.pdf

The year 3 team is:

Rainbow Raspberries - Katarina Azdajickatarina.azdajic@ed.act.edu.au

Pomegranates - Thembi Compton thembi.compton@ed.act.edu.au

Lilli Pillies - Dale Solly (M,T,W,F) dale.solly@ed.act.edu.au

Lilli Pillies - Louise Johnston (Th) louise.johnston@ed.act.edu.au

Illawarra Plums - Lisa McCabe lisa.mccabe@ed.act.edu.au

Chilli Peppers - Bella Williams (M,T,Th,F)  bella.williams@ed.act.edu.au

Chilli Peppers - Brooke Reardon (M,T,W) brooke.reardon@ed.act.edu.au

Chilli Peppers - Katie Kanowski (W,Th,F) katie.kanowski@ed.act.edu.au

Executive Team Leader – Ali Gattuso  Ali.gattuso@ed.act.edu.au